The eligibility requirements for the original $25,000 homestead exemption must be met. Every Florida resident who is legally blind qualifies for this exemption. A certificate from the Division of Blind Services of the Department of Education or the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or the Federal Social Security Administration certifying the applicant to be blind or a letter from a Florida physician certifying that the applicant is totally and permanently disabled due to blindness or an optometrist certification that the applicant is totally and permanently disabled due to legal blindness, is required.
"A legally blind person” is defined as an individual having central vision acuity 20/200 or less in the better eye with correcting glasses, or a disqualifying field defect in which the peripheral field has contracted to such an extent that the widest diameter or visual field subtends an angular distance no greater than twenty degrees.
In 2022, Florida Statute 196.202 was changed to increase the exemption amount from $500 to $5,000. This means your tax savings of $10 can go up to $100 annually. This change will be effective January, 2023.